Website Manager

Hillside Little League - Omaha, Nebraska

Hillside Little League - Omaha, Nebraska

The Del Popken Award

The Del Popken Award

Little League is a program of service to youth, providing an outlet for healthy activity under good leadership in an atmosphere of community participation.

The values of Little League are many, but from every aspect of its operation, they relate directly to the youngsters who participate.  Hopefully, we can all benefit from the lessons of teamwork, discipline, and the will to win generated by our local league programs.

Del Popken exemplified the principles of Little League in every way, devoting his efforts toward helping our youth develop sportsmanship, discipline, and decency.  Although Del Popken passed away in the fall of 1971, his service, dedication, and sense of fair play both molded our organization in its early years and set the standard for volunteer service.

Each year, the Hillside Board recognizes volunteers who demonstrate the values embodied in Del’s participation in Little League.

Past Winners

          2024                    Anna Rosseter, Michelle Wiese and Lisa Smith

          2023                   Joe Girthoffer and Dale Murphy

          2022                   Joe Hansen and Darold Mergens

          2021                   Jered & Crystal Anderson

          2020                   No award given

          2019                   Darold & Rebecca Mergens and Jessica Moran

          2018                   Jered & Crystal Anderson

          2017                   Jerome & Brittani Tanhueco and Lisa Smith

          2016                   Bill Sanders and Justin Armsbury

          2015                   Al Monaco IV and Steve Brown

          2014                   Erica Dornacker

          2013                   Tammy Bisaillon

          2012                   Seth & Emily Kangas

          2011                   Maureen Haney and Rick Brown

          2010                   Jeff & Stephanie Fletcher

          2009                   Sam Brower and Marty McCaslin

          2008                   Gary Grady and Nancy Johnson

          2007                   Tom Holder and Dan Vollmer

          2006                   Dan Rauterkus and Rick Brown

          2005                   Steve Kutilek and Paul Jokela

          2004                   Laura Vitek and Jeff Detter

          2003                   Dick Schmidt

          2002                   Jim Brau

          2001                   Wes Young and Mike Getty

          2000                   Steve Kutilek and Jill Koopman

          1999                   Julie & Keith Rudeen

          1998                   Dawn Robar and Larry Suder

          1997                   Steve Brown and John Addy

          1996                   Theresa Schmidt

          1995                   Tim Owens

          1994                   Dave Workman

          1993                   Ted Backora and Shar Beacom

          1992                   Larry Wolfe

          1991                   Shar Beacom

          1990                   George Jones

          1989                   Gary Teel

          1988                   Ron Racine

          1987                   Rodger & Jane Arnold

          1986                   Don & JoAnn McKamy

          1985                   Sandi Patterson

          1984                   Larry & Marie Wolfe

          1983                   Jim & Jean Huston

          1982                   Ed & Darlene Force

          1981                   Jean Huston

          1980                   Tony Madden

          1979                   Darrell & Fran Nuzum

          1978                   Jim Huston

          1977                   Betty Magistretti

          1976                   John Fletcher

          1975                   Gene Theel

          1974                   Bill Zastera

          1973                   Jack McDermott

          1972                   Art Busch


Hillside Little League
7914 W Dodge Rd #518 
Omaha, Nebraska 68114

Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2024 Hillside Athletic Association  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In